History Hiding in Plain Sight
About this Event
History Hiding in Plain Sight!
Frenchay Village Museum, Frenchay Unitarian Chapel and Frenchay Quaker Meeting invite you to spend an afternoon exploring local history on your doorstep.
📍 Meeting Point: Frenchay Village Museum
1 Begbrook Park, Frenchay, BS16 1SZ @ 1:30 pm
1.30pm – Museum opens
The Museum opens and acts as a gathering point. Early arrivals are welcome to look around the Museum.
2.00pm – Welcome and introduction
Welcome and introduction by Hugh Whatley, Chair of Museum.
2.15pm – First walking group departs
The first walking group leaves the Museum, taking the longer route to arrive at the Chapel by 2.45pm. Led by Carol Thorne, former Headteacher at Frenchay School.
2.30pm – Second walking group departs
If there is sufficient demand, a second group will leave the Museum and take the shorter route directly to the Chapel, arriving at approximately 2.45pm. Led by Peter Bruce.
2.45pm – Both groups arrive at the Frenchay CHapel
A short talk by Peter Bruce, one of the leading volunteers, followed by an opportunity to look around the Chapel.
3.15pm – Walk to the Quaker Meeting House
Depart the Chapel and walk along Beckspool Road to the Quaker Meeting House, arriving at approximately 3.30pm.
3.30pm – Visit to Quaker Meeting House
Short talk by Roger Angerson, very long standing member of the Local Meeting, followed by a tour of the house and grounds.
4.00pm – Light refreshments
Tea, cake and light refreshments will be served. Donations are warmly welcomed.
4.30pm – Event concludes
Walk back from the last location is aproximately 0.7 miles/15 min.
Frenchay Village Museum is housed in West Lodge, which was at the main gate of Frenchay Park House, which has Georgian origins. The Lodge dates from 1870 and the parkland around the House was subsequently developed into Frenchay Hospital (1921 -2014). The museum opened in 2000 and has many artefacts donated by local Quaker families (Tuckett & Fry) including the world's oldest bar of chocolate!
Frenchay Chapel dates from the 17th century and provided a home for dissenting congregations from the Anglican Church, who were early adopters of Unitarian principles. It is an architectural gem, with many interesting features, including a weather vane which commemorates Halley's Comet.
Quaker Friends Meeting House has been described as 'simple, solid and attractive'. The present building dates from 1809 but has much earlier origins. Most of the original 19th century layout survives and there is a charming rear garden area which is seldom open to the public and cannot be seen from the road.
All three of the buildings on this tour form part of the Non-Conformist Trail published by South Glos Council.
Donations are warmly welcomed at each location. Your support helps us maintain and run our various buildings, while preserving the history and heritage of our community for local residents and future generations to enjoy and learn from.
Toilet facilities are available at each location.
Free parking is available in the Council car park behind the Museum, with approximately 50 spaces.
Longer or shorter routes available
Places are limited, so please book early to avoid disappointment.
Where is it happening?
Event Location & Nearby Stays:
GBP 0.00



















